2022 Recipient Profiles

Tim Duncanson

Partner at Kicking Horse Capital Inc.

Tim Duncanson headshot
Mr. Duncanson is a partner at Kicking Horse Capital Inc. which makes concentrated investments in public equities, private debt and distressed securities.

Prior to joining Kicking Horse Capital, he was a Senior Advisor to the Deputy Minister at the Department of Finance Canada.  Mr. Duncanson was involved in both policy design and implementation, most often where commercial or inter-government negotiations were required.  Notable policy initiatives on which Mr. Duncanson took a leadership role included: the Canada Pension Plan enhancement, the Canada Infrastructure Bank, the Wataynikaneyap Power transmission grid in Northern Ontario, the acquisition of TransMountain Corporation, and the federal government’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Prior to his appointment with the federal government, Mr. Duncanson spent over 16 years at Onex Corporation.  As a Managing Director he was responsible for sourcing, negotiating and managing investments in a variety of industries.  Before joining Onex, Mr. Duncanson worked in mergers and acquisitions at Lazard Frères in New York, and as an investment analyst at Mutual Life of Canada in Waterloo, Ontario.  As a past chair of the Executive Board at Huron University College, he serves as a lifetime member of its Corporation.

Mr. Duncanson has a BA in History from Huron University College at Western, an MPP from the John F. Kennedy School of Government and an MBA from Harvard Business School.  He holds a Chartered Financial Analyst designation.

He lives in Toronto with his wife and where his three children also insist on having permanent lodgings.


Kathleen Taylor

Chair of the Board of RBC

Kathleen Taylor headshot

Kathleen (Katie) Taylor is Chair of the Board of the Royal Bank of Canada, Vice-Chair of the Adecco Group and a director of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board and Air Canada. She serves as Chair of Altas Partners, a Toronto-based private equity investment firm. Ms. Taylor is also the immediate past Chair and member of the Board of the SickKids Foundation, a member of the Board of Trustees for the Hospital for Sick Children and a Co-Chair of the SickKids Capital Campaign. Ms. Taylor is the former President and Chief Executive Officer of Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts. During her 24-year career, she held a number of senior leadership roles and was instrumental in building the firm’s global brand and its international portfolio of luxury properties.

Ms. Taylor is a member of the C.D. Howe Institute’s National Council, Chair of their Human Capital Policy Council and a member of the Task Force on the Digital Economy. She serves on the Dean’s Advisory Council of the Schulich School of Business and on the Principal’s International Advisory Board at McGill University.

Her many accolades for business achievement include the Schulich School of Business Award for Outstanding Executive Leadership and the inaugural Medal for Career Achievement from the Hennick Centre for Business and Law at York University. She has been inducted into the Canadian Marketing Hall of Legends and was named to Canada’s Most Powerful Women Hall of Fame by the Women’s Executive Network (WXN) after being honoured by WXN in 2011, 2014, 2016 and 2017. In 2016, Ms. Taylor received the Governance Professionals of Canada Peter Dey Governance Achievement Award and was made a Member of the Order of Canada. Report on Business magazine named Ms. Taylor among the 50 most powerful people in Canadian Business in 2017. She is a Fellow of the Institute of Corporate Directors and a Fellow of the National Association of Corporate Directors.

Ms. Taylor holds an M.B.A. from the Schulich School of Business, a law degree from Osgoode Hall Law School and a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) from the University of Toronto. She has also received an Honorary Doctorate of Laws from the University of Toronto, McGill University, York University and Trent University and an Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters from Mount Saint Vincent University.